Delilah – Tom Jones

Tom Jones https://youtu.be/icTSPpyub4g For those that don’t know I am from Wales in the U.K. Every rugby match Wales play at home we have a song that is sang to the heavens with pride but there is a sinister side to the song. We proud of anyone that comes from Wales and does well but this song can send a shiver down any woman that has been though domestic abuse. The song in question is Delilah by Sir Tom Jones. A great song you might think until you actually listen to the lyrics. “I saw the light on the night that I passed by her window.” Now he wasn’t going there, that is important later. So are they a couple? “I saw the flickering shadows of love on her blind,” “She was my woman.” So he owned her? “As she deceived me I watched and went out of my mind.” “My,my,my, Delilah.” He is informing you he owns her again. “Why,why,why, Delilah.” Now he is blaming her. “I could see that girl was no good for me.” So walk away is what a normal guy would do. “But I was lost like a slave that no man cold free.” “At break of dawn that man drove away, I was waiting.” He sat outside all night? “I cross the street to her house and she opened the door.” “She stood there laughing.” Okay not a wise move but I know I laugh when I’m scared. “I felt the knife in my hand and she laughed no more.” Okay hold on a minuet where did the knife spring from. Is he a magician or did he have it all night. And if he had it all night did he have it when he went passed her place? “My,my,my, Delilah.” He is informing you he owns her again. “Why,why,why, Delilah.” Now he is blaming her again for killing her. Bad Delilah for making him stab you. Okay not a laughing matter but how is this sang again at every match? “So before they come to break down the door,” “Forgive me Delilah I just couldn’t take anymore.” A lovely trumpet, to lift the mood here. “I felt the knife in my hand and she laughed no more.” “My,my,my, Delilah.” “Why,why,why, Delilah.” “So before they come to break down the door,” “Forgive me Delilah I just couldn’t take anymore.” “Forgive me Delilah I just couldn’t take anymore.”

Leave a comment